Skip to content

One big happy family!

September 27, 2011

Well, someone must have heard my prayers because these past couple of weeks have been VERY exciting- although not in an entirely good way.
I’ve been very anxious to fill you in on all of the new developments, so here goes! Like I mentioned last time- Lady is the newest addition to our happy family. Well, that’s going just swimmingly so far. Lady has gone through her first round of heartworm treatment, but you’d never know (besides the shaved butt and all.  I never understood why the vet wants to damage a perfectly beautiful coat of fur) – that is one happy dog! So far, the only down side to Lady being in the house is that Mum and Dad have hidden all of the Wubba’s.  Lady doesn’t chew anything that she’s not supposed to, but she does love toys, and we’ve been in this predicament before…let me take you back to winter 2010…

I had just come to live with Mum and Dad, I was a Christmas Eve gift to them! Along with me came my favorite toy in the whole world…a rubber, squeaky hot dog. Oh, I know what you’re thinking, but this wasn’t just any squeaky hot dog, it was very special (mustard, ketchup AND relish!).  Anyway, I carried this hot dog everywhere, didn’t really chew it, just carried, showing it off. Well, Chula was new in the house too and apparently she took a liking to my hot dog as well (can’t blame her really), but that hot dog didn’t last long in Chula’s anxious jaws! Faster than you could say ‘hot dog’ both ends had been chewed off and I was left with nothing more than little bits of yellow plastic. Aside from being dumped at the pound, this was one of the saddest days of my short, doggy life.

Lucky for me, Dad also loved this hot dog, at least I assume he did because the very next day- two brand new squeaky hot dogs came in the mail – he was just beaming with excitement.  Mum just doesn’t have the same appreciation; she just looked at Dad with surprise and asked why in the world he’d spend $25 on 2 dog toys?? Clearly Mum doesn’t have the taste for the finer things in life like Dad and me (I’ve been asking for a rhinestone collar, but they just won’t budge).  Oh well.  Sorry- back to the topic at hand- clearly Mum and Dad must be scarred from the hot dog experience and didn’t want to take that same chance with my beloved Wubba’s, so they put them away (grrrr).

Equally as exciting as gaining a new playmate in Lady, we have doggy addition #4! Surely, you’ve all seen and heard about Bonnie! The poor momma dog who was being used for breeding puppies and hardly cared for except for the food and shelter provided by some kind hearted strangers at a nearby warehouse.  If you haven’t heard the background, be sure to check it out here.  You know, I would love to meet the people who did that to poor Bon-Bon and give them an up close view of my pearly white teeth! Well, after a long week’s stay at the vet, Bonnie was finally able to come home! You know me, I have a soft spot for fellow pittie mommas – so I convinced Mum and Dad to take her in!
She’s one of the nicest dogs we’ve had, but get a load of this: even as long as she had been neglected- this girl is still a picky eater! She’s coming around to the regular dry food, but I think she was milking Dad’s sympathy, trying to get as much of that wet food as possible- smart girl

Back to 4 dogs and so far, so good- no complaints from me! In fact, as I write, all of the others have found their rightful spots- on the bed, on the couch, and on the doggy pillows. It’s safe to say that we’re all doing better than we were 2 weeks ago.
Until next time!

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 28, 2011 2:21 pm

    great information, thanks. hope you write some more posts soon.

Leave a Reply

